Simpson Debate Team Reigns Over National Competitors

Debate Team

Simpson’s national championship public forum debate team had plenty of hardware to haul after Saturday’s tournament: From left, Dustin Peters, Steffi Lee, Jacy Gomez, Ethan Frederick, Alex Severn and Nate Connealy.

In its first year of competition a year ago, Simpson’s public forum debate program won fourth place in the College Public Forum Debate National Tournament.

On Saturday, it won the title — dominating eight other schools from around the country, including the Ivy League’s University of Pennsylvania, in winning the tournament, held at Simpson.

What’s more, Simpson’s Ethan Frederick won the top speaker award in the tournament, and Jacy Gomez won the fourth-speaker award. Both were named CPF national champions.

“I continue to be impressed by their drive to win with grace, their demonstration of respect and decorum in round, and their ability to represent Simpson on a national stage,” said Spencer Waugh, coach of the debate team.

Simpson’s 65 team points and 13-2 team record in the tournament far outpaced Ohio University, which came in second with 20 points. Rounding out the top five schools were Ottawa University of Kansas, Penn and Butler University of Indiana.

Simpson’s Nate Connealy and Alex Severn won second place in the national championship.

Other members of the Simpson public forum team are Steffi Lee and Dustin Peters.

Simpson’s team will next be in action at a second College Public Forum Debate National Tournament in March.


Want to know more? Contact one of our faculty members.

Add a Comment (all fields required)

No Comments