Parliamentary League of the Upper Midwest Standings

Simpson College joined The Parliamentary League of the Upper Midwest (PLUM) this past fall, and we competed in three of their five day-long tournaments.

On Tuesday, March 5th the Parliamentary Debate Team of Tegan Jarchow, Paul Safford, and Jacy Gomez defeated Bethany Lutheran on a 3-0 decision to win the final PLUM tournament of the season.  In the final round the students debated the merits of streamlining the US military.  They had 15 minutes to prepare the topic.

Colleges and universities were then ranked based on the results of all 5 tournaments.  Below is a cumulative summary of team standings with the results of all 5 PLUM events:

Team Points

  1. Bethany Lutheran College 86
  2. St. Olaf College 77
  3. Simpson College 69
  4. St Cloud State University 29
  5. Ripon College 15
  6. South Dakota State University 6
  7. North Dakota State University 3

In a field of 44 speakers, Simpson received THREE of the top ten best speakers of the entire season:

  • 3rd Jacy Gomez
  • 8th Tegan Jarchow
  • 9th Ethan Fredrick


Add a Comment (all fields required)

No Comments