Business Advisory Council

The department of Business Administration and Economics is pleased to announce the members of the Business Advisory Council. The BAC meets four times a year. They provide networking opportunities, internship possibilities and guide curriculum relevancy.


Craig Althof
Firestone Agricultural Tire
2nd Avenue & Hoffman Road
Des Moines, IA 50305

Jan Burch
Jan Burch & Associates
3775 E.P. True Parkway, Suite 162
West Des Moines, IA 50265

Jay Byers
Greater Des Moines Partnership
700 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309

Tiffany Coleman
Warren County Economic Development
515 North Jefferson Way
Indianola, IA 50125

Wade Den Hartog
Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines
1915 Grand Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50309

Denise Dennis
Wells Fargo Home Mortgage
5013 SW 16th
Des Moines, IA 50315

Terry Dooley
ITS, Inc.
6700 Pioneer Parkway
Johnston, IA 50131

Monica Freidman
Nationwide Insurance
1100 Locust
Des Moines, IA 50391

Ellen Gaucher
Wellmark Blue Cross & Blue Shield
636 Grand Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50309

Jean Gelbman
701 5th Avenue, Dept. 0700
Des Moines, IA 50391

Raymond Gocken
Ankeny Campus, Building 8
Ankeny, IA 50023

Jim Gustafson
Wells Fargo Financial
206 8th Street – Suite 900
Des Moines, IA 50309

Terry Handley
Casey’s General Stores, Inc.
1 Convenience Boulevard
Ankeny, IA 50021

Rachelle Johnston
Emco Manufacturing
2121 E. Walnut
Des Moines, IA 50317

Rich Krumme
5387 Monroe
Prole, IA 50229

Kara Lindsey
CDS Global
1901 Bell Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50315

Fred Lorber
Retired, Lortex
5 S.W. 52nd Street
Des Moines, IA 50312
Phone: 515-255-4241

Grant McGraw
Edward Jones
123 South Howard Street
Indianola, IA 50125

Julie Middleswart
Ernst & Young, L.L.P.
801 Grand Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50309

Rose Mitchell
Hy-Vee, Inc.
5820 Westown Parkway
West Des Moines, IA 50266

Kathy Myers
DeBono Thinking Systems
2570 106th Street – Suite A
Urbandale, IA 50322

Drew Primrose
933 SE Shurfine Drive
Ankeny, IA 50021

Clark Raney
1219 North B Street
Indianola, IA 50125

Jerry Ripperger
The Principal Financial Group
1275 N.W. 128th Street, Suite 100
Clive, IA 50325-7422

Nancy Roehrkasse
CDS Global
1901 Bell Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50315

Michael Sadler
Qwest Services Corporation
925 High Street
Des Moines, IA 50309

Scott Sams
Principal Global Investors
801 Grand
Des Moines, IA 50392

John Schmidt
McGowan, Hurst, Clark & Smith, P.C.
1601 Westlakes Parkway, Suite 300
West Des Moines, IA 50266

Trevor Shaner
UBS Financial Services, Inc.
5465 Mills Civic Parkway, Suite 301
West Des Moines, IA 50266

Sonya Shoesmith
2609 Dixon Drive
Des Moines, IA 50316

Doug Shull
901 Scott Felton Road
Indianola, IA 50125
Phone: 515-371-4605

Midge Slater
Communications Workers of America-International
6200 Aurora 503E
Urbandale, IA 50322

Lori Strottman
FBL Financial Group, Inc.
5400 University Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50266

Todd Witke
EMC Insurance
717 Mulberry Street
Des Moines, IA 50309


Department of Business Administration & Economics

  • Shane Cox, Assistant Professor of Accounting
  • Mark Green, Professor of Marketing
  • Mark Juffernbruch, Professor of Accounting
  • Parul Mathur Assistant Professor of Economics
  • Marilyn Mueller, Professor of Management
  • Jim Palmieri, Professor of Economics
  • Mike Prindle, Assistant Professor of Accounting
  • Yao Lu Swanson, visiting Assistant Professor of Marketing
  • Ruth Weatherly, Professor Emeritus of Management

Simpson College

  • Jay Simmons, President
  • Amy Day, Corporate Relations Specialist
  • Steve Griffith, Vice President & Dean for Academic Affairs
  • Rosemary Link, Assoc. Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Gwen Schroder, Director of Transfer Enrollment
  • Jule Thorsen, Instructional Technology Specialist