Matthew Simpson Lecture

The Rev. Dr. Traci WestThe Matthew Simpson Lecture in Religion is an annual lecture delivered by a nationally known scholar in the area of religion.

On October 15, 2015, we look forward to welcoming the Rev. Dr. Traci West, Professor of Ethics and African American StudiesĀ at Drew University Theological School and ordained elder in the New York Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church. Disruptive Christian Ethics is among Dr. West’s several books. She is currently working on the intersection of religion, racism, and violence against women.

Dr. West will speak on “How Racism and Religion can Promote Violence Against Women.” The lecture, in Hubbell Hall in Kent Campus Center, will begin at 7:00 p.m. and is free and open to the public.

The Matthew Simpson Lecture in Religion was established in 1980 by Professors Roger Betsworth and Bruce Haddox, members of the religion and philosophy department. With an initial operating budget of $500, the two founders invited their first speaker, Dr. Stanley Hauerwas. Since 1980, many distinguished scholars have delivered the lecture; see the list below. In 2013, gifts from two college employees established the Matthew Simpson Lecture Endowment Fund to help ensure the ongoing quality of the annual lecture and related events. In 2015 the Fund has grown to approximately $7,000.

The original goal of the lectureship was to expose Simpson students to the leading thinkers in religion, biblical studies, and social ethics.

To RSVP to the event on Facebook, click here.

Past speakers include

1980 – Stanley Hauerwas 1997 – Marcus Borg
1981 – John Dominic Crossan 1998 – Richard Hays
1982 – Will Campbell 1999 – Roberta Bondi
1983 – John Cobb 2000 – Luke Timothy Johnson
1984 – John Yoder 2001 – L. Gregory Jones
1985 – Stephen Crites 2002 – William H. Willimon
1986 – Martin Marty 2003 – George Forell
1987 – Beverly Bildung Harrison 2004 – Stanley Hauerwas
1988 – Walter Brueggemann 2005 – Robin W. Lovin
1989 – Dan Maguire 2006 – Gregory Boyd
1990 – James Cone 2007 – Pamela Eisenbaum
1991 – Huston Smith 2008 – Mark D. Jordan
1992 – Charles Long 2009 – Teresa L. Fry Brown
1993 – Sharon Ringe 2010 – Grant Wacker
1994 – Robert McAfee Brown 2011 – William Cavanaugh
1995 – Rebecca Chopp 2012 – Anantanand Ramachan
1996 – Phyllis Trible 2013 – Amy-Jill Levine
2014 – Victoria Barnett