Instrumental Music

Welcome to the home of Instrumental Music at Simpson College! 

Here you will find information for current and future students. We are a vibrant instrumental department that features a wide range of performance and educational opportunities. 
If you have any questions or for more information, please contact Dr. Dave Camwell or Dr. Michael Eckerty. 


All of Simpson's Instrumental Ensembles are open to students who are majoring in music as well as any other academic area on campus.

Click on the links below for more information on each Simpson College ensemble:

Instrumental Faculty

Dr. John Benoit - Professor of Music - Trombone/Music Theory Linda Benoit - Violin/Viola Dr. Dave Camwell - Associate Professor of Music - Saxophone/Jazz Studies Dr. Mike Eckerty - Assistant Professor of Music - Director of Bands/Bassoon Dr. Kim Helton - Flute/Piccolo Joshua Johnson - Horn Steven Kennedy - Guitar/Jazz Improvisation Steve McCombs - Percussion Jay Nugent - Instrumental Music Education Jim Oatts - Trumpet Susan Odem - Oboe Mike Short - Tuba/Euphonium/Bass trombone Sandy Tatge - Cello/Double Bass Kariann Voigts - Clarinet