Celebrating Success at Honors Convocation

Simpson College celebrates success in many ways, but perhaps no event on campus better illustrates this than the annual Honors Convocation.

Dozens of students were honored for their academic achievements.

In addition, two faculty members received awards. Barb Ramos, associate professor of education, received the Campus Leadership Award, and John Pauley, professor of philosophy, received the Distinguished Research Award.

Here’s the list of honorees:

  • Carl Halgren Certificate of Excellence in Psychology: Katharine C. Groehn
  • Everett Laning Award in Sociology: Emily Fichter and Kelly Hein
  • Outstanding Senior in Criminal Justice: Tim Olsen
  • Horizon Award: Pedro Rosa.
  • Dick Starr Award: Jeremy Reinert
  • Outstanding Senior in Sports Science: Lindsay Nash and Jesse Van De Krol.
  • Leadership in Education: Cora Musfeldt
  • Outstanding Senior in Elementary Education: Carissa Coopman
  • Dr. Donna J. Helble ’71 Award Winner for Outstanding Junior in Elementary Education: Steffanie Elkin
  • Outstanding Senior in Secondary Education: Jennifer Pfeifer
  • Outstanding Graduate Student in Secondary Education: Jessica Hazelton
  • Outstanding Senior in Humanities: Kathrin M. DePue
  • Norman Thomas Outstanding Senior in Philosophy: Ethan Hale
  • Joe Walt Senior History Award: Rawley Butler and Ryan Stumbo
  • Phi Alpha Theta Award: Matthew Comer and Krystal Daggett
  • Roger Betsworth Outstanding Senior in Religion: Kathrin M. DePue and Jonathan D. DePue
  • Clerk’s Award: Caitlin Dicus
  • Outstanding Senior in English: Travis Williams
  • Outstanding Student in World Language and Culture Studies: Alicia Suschena
  • L. Mildred Wilson Science Award: Kylie Van Houten
  • Doft Science Honor Awards: David P. Alfstad, Andrea M. Avery, Casey R. Croson, Kimberly M. Dahle, Haley L. Danforth, Brooke A. Eyerly, Michael B. Frank, Joel M. Gawarecki, Brittany K. Gochenour, Sarah E. Jermeland, Kyle W. Kusy, Abby L. Lantzky, Lauren M. Mulder, Addison J.  O’Conner, Rachel C. Rice, Lauren F. SchemmelLinsey R. Williams, Kelsey L. Wittorf, Kelly A. Woodard
  • Outstanding Seniors in Chemistry or Biochemistry : Laura C. Collins and Stephen E. Henrich
  • Outstanding Senior in Physics….. Laura C. Collins
  • Margaret L. Watson Awards in Biology: Haley M. Roecker and Brittany K. Gochenour
  • Dr. Alan and Karen Orr Biology Research Scholars : Jesse D. Smiles
  • Outstanding Senior in Environmental Science: Sydnie D. Tarter
  • Joe K. Moody Research Scholarship : Stephen E. Henrich
  • Hiram Doty Research Award: Conor G. Fair, Dianna M. Krejsa and Mark Brodie
  • Outstanding Senior in Computer Science: Adam M. Smith
  • Outstanding Seniors in Mathematics: Laura C. Collins, Stephen E. Henrich and Whitney M. Thompson
  • Outstanding Senior in Political Science: JoAnna Freeland
  • Outstanding Senior in Integrated Marketing Communication: Alejandro Caballero
  • Outstanding Senior in Multimedia Journalism: Jesse Stewart
  • Outstanding Senior in Marketing: Alyssa Frank
  • Outstanding Senior in Management: Audrey Morris
  • R.J. Samson Enactus Award: Audrey Myers
  • Outstanding Senior in International Management: Brad Davison
  • Lisle C. Wilson Outstanding Junior: Matt Nichols
  • Feyerharm Award for Outstanding Junior: Alissa Deutsch
  • Heckert Award-Outstanding Senior in Economics: Whitney Thompson
  • Financial Executives International Awards: Mark Cronin and Michael Kern
  • Institute of Management Accountants: Ling Ng
  • Iowa Society of Certified Public Accountants: Mikayla Struebing
  • Eberhart International Scholarship: Leah Otieno
  • Alpha Psi Omega Junior Award: Josh Zieman
  • Outstanding Senior in Theatre Art: Caleb Carver
  • Outstanding Sophomore Portfolio : Kaitlyn VanPatten
  • Outstanding Senior in Art: Nina Summers
  • Frank Barrows Award: Aimee Allen
  • Douglas J. Duncan Music Award: Ben Schaefer
  • Sven and Mildred Lekberg Music Award: Joe Farrand and Meghan Kasanders.
  • Music Performing Honors: Sam Carroll and Alicia Suschena
  • Volunteers of the Year Award: Kelly Hein, Zach Huebener and Mark Stanek
  • Jordan Science Achievement Award: Stephen E. Henrich
  • ODK Emerging Leader Award: Ruth Roberts
  • E.G. Booth Award: Colton Calvert
  • Alpha Lambda Delta Maria Leonard Book Award: Mikayla Struebing and Eduardo Magalhaes
  • Women’s and Gender Studies Program Scholarship Award: Tara Maurer
  • Women’s and Gender Studies Program Activism Award : Kristina Kelehan
  • Barborka Award: Kate Nielsen
  • Campus Leadership Award: Professor Barb Ramos
  • Distinguished Research Award: Professor John Pauley

Add a Comment (all fields required)

No Comments