Debate Team Captures Public Forum Debate Title

It’s looking like another successful year for Simpson’s Speech and Debate Team.

Simpson captured the championship in Public Forum Debate at Marshall University in Huntington, W.Va., on Oct 25-26, winning 14 of 16 preliminary debate rounds to take top honors against 11 other colleges and universities.

In addition, Simpson’s Debate Team finished second overall in the debate sweepstakes.

For the first time, Simpson earned a sweepstakes award for excellence in speech. This is the first time in recent memory that the College has fielded a speech team.

“I continue to be impressed by the dedication demonstrated by these students,” said Spencer Waugh, instructor of Speech and Debate. “They worked hard to prepare, and their efforts paid off.”

In combined team points (speech and debate), Simpson finished fourth.

The following Simpson students competed and earned team points: Michelle Beving, Ethan Fredrick, Jacy Gomez, Tegan Jarchow, Emma Kain, Jacob McLain, Tyler Millard, Kiley Murray and Paul Safford.

In Public Forum Debate, Fredrick was named top speaker and McLain second speaker. Gomez and Kain were named third speakers, while Murray received the sixth speaker award.

In the individual speech results, Fredrick placed fourth and Murray sixth in the Novice Impromptu category.

In Duo Improv, Fredrick and Millard placed second. The team also received the top novice award and a Pi Kappa Delta award of Excellence.

Add a Comment (all fields required)

No Comments