Great Showing for Speech, Debate at Missouri Tournament

Two top-three team finishes and the crowning of two champions produced a successful weekend for Simpson at the annual Gorlok Gala tournament at Webster University in St. Louis.

Simpson competed against 36 colleges and universities from 17 states. The Simpson Debate team finished second overall – Hillsdale College placed first – and the Speech & Debate team placed third in combined team points, a category won by Southern Baptist University.

Spencer Waugh, instructor of Speech and Debate, was pleased that every student contributed to the team awards.

“Students worked hard to prepare for this tournament,” he said. “We know that success here predicts success at nationals. We have a clear focus of what needs to be done between now and then.”

Leading the way were for Simpson in Missouri were Sarah Baker and Ben Sebastian, who were declared Public Forum Champions after defeating a team from the University of Minnesota.

Sarah then joined Riley Brennan to repeat as Duo Improv Champions.

5th Place Duo Improv Austin Andes & Lewis Cox won the fifth place Duo Improv award.

Debate Speaker Awards:

Novice Parliamentary Debate

4th — Jess Edwards

8th — Jailyn Seabrooks


Open Parliamentary Debate

3rd — Kelsey Schott

4th — Will Seiler

9th — Sydney Samples

15th — Bobbi Fogle

17th — Alex Geren

19th  — Pierce Carey


Public Forum Debate

2nd — Ben Sebastian

5th — Pierce Carey

6th — Andrew Dunn

9th  — Sarah Baker


Novice Lincoln Douglas Debate

2nd  — Daniel Estrada


JV Lincoln Douglas Debate

2nd — Kelli Ruth

5th  — Geoff VanDeusen


Debate Finalists:

Parliamentary Debate

Quarterfinalist:  Bobbi Fogle & Kelsey Schott


Alex Geren & Will Seiler

Sarah Baker & Geoff VanDeusen

Sydney Samples & Mackenzie Clayton


Lincoln Douglas Debate

Quarterfinalist:  Kelli Ruth

Octofinalist:  Geoff VanDeusen


Public Forum Debate

Champion:  Sarah Baker & Ben Sebastian

Semifinalist:  Lydia Magalhaes & Joe Howard

Semifinalist:  Pierce Carey & Jake Stoulil

Quarterfinalist:  Andrew Dunn & Casey Spring