Iowa Campus Compact Names Eric Rucker Recipient of Emerging Leadership Award

Eric Rucker, director of the Simpson Youth Academy, has received the Emerging Leadership Award from the Iowa Campus Compact.

The Academy is an ecumenical community of youth and adult mentors who explore faith-related questions and take action. The goal is to equip youth to live into their calling as agents of peace and justice in the church and world.

The Iowa Campus Compact received nearly 50 nominations from 12 colleges and universities across the state. This year’s recipients included:

  • Civic Mission Leadership: Dr. Theresa Donofrio, The Esther and Robert Armstrong Assistant Professor of Rhetoric, Coe College
  • Community Leadership: Carrie Romo, Alumna, Central College
  • Emerging Leadership: Eric Rucker, Director of the Simpson Youth Academy, Simpson College
  • Student Leadership: Jane Nguyen, Honors Student, University of Iowa / Co-Founder, Conversation Center / Co-Founder and President, aKDPhi Sorority
  • Emerging Innovation: Community Energy & Climate Action, University of Northern Iowa Conservation Corps
  • Community Partnership: Layers of Maquoketa Steering Committee and the University of Iowa
  • Community Partnership: Des Moines Area Religious Council and Drake University
  • National Service Members of the Year: Kelly May, Part-time Iowa College AmeriCorps Program Member, Coe College and Alexzandra Tillman, Full-Time Iowa College AmeriCorps Program Member, Iowa Western Community College

Additionally, three student organizations were selected for our Network Choice Award social media competition. Each had one week to secure the highest number of Facebook “likes” to win. The winner was Coe College’s “I’m First” First Generation Student Club.

“Our member colleges and universities are committed to strong community partnerships, said Emily Shields, executive director of the Iowa Campus Compact. “These awardees represent the kinds of people, projects and collaborations we need to move Iowa forward.”

The awards will be presented May 9 at the annual Engaged Campus Awards and Summit at Coe College in Cedar Rapids.