Jacy Gomez wins top honor in debate tourney hosted by Simpson

Jacy Gomez was named National Champion Speaker and Simpson College won the overall sweepstakes award at a weekend tournament hosted by Simpson.  In Radio Broadcasting, Ellen Keyser placed second.

Simpson debaters captured three of the top six speaker awards in the field of 20 students. In addition to Gomez, Alex Severn was named 4th speaker and Nate Connealy 5th speaker.

All in all, it was an enormously successful showing at the first Public Communications Speech & Debate League (PCSDL) National Tournament, hosted by Simpson the weekend of Feb. 22-23.

The following colleges and universities competed at the event:

AIB College of Business

Marietta College

Northwest Missouri State University

Ohio University

Ohio State University

Ottawa University

Simpson College

Simpson entered 13 students in the competition.


Debate Sweepstakes (overall team points)

1. Simpson College 58

2. Northwest Missouri State University 47

3. Ohio University 18

4. Ottawa University 15

Speech Sweepstakes (overall team points)

1.  Ohio University  148

2.  Marietta College 60

3.  Simpson College 46

4.  Ottawa University 34

5.  Ohio State University 9

Combined Sweepstakes

1. Ohio University 61

2. Simpson College 57

3.  Northwest Missouri State University 37

4.  Ottawa University 22

5.  Marietta College 19



Ellen Keyser 2nd Place in Radio Broadcasting

Emma Kain 6th Place in Radio Broadcasting

Ethan Fredrick & Tyler Millard 3rd Place in Duo Improv

Robert Lyons & Ashley Gomez 5th Place in Duo Improv


Jacob McLain & Robert Lyons – 2nd Place

Ethan Fredrick & Jacy Gomez – 3rd Place

Michelle Beving & Kiley Murray 5th Place

Jacob McLain and Robert Lyons made it to the final round in Public Forum Debate, eventually losing to NWMSU on a 2-1 decision.

Add a Comment (all fields required)

No Comments