Simpson Celebrates Academic Success at 2017 Honors Convocation

At Simpson, we don’t have to wonder about what great things our students will do after they graduate.

We’ve already witnessed their impressive achievements on campus.
The annual Honors Convocation, held April 19 in Smith Chapel, is one way we recognize student success in every department.
Two faculty members also were recognized. They received the 2017 Faculty Award for Distinguished Research.

*April Drumm-Hewitt, assistant professor of Psychology, has two co-authored articles published within the last three years—“Texting Insincerely: The Role of the Period in Text Messaging” (published in Computers in Human Behavior), and “Embodiment During Reading: Simulating Story Characters’ Linguistic Actions” (published in The Journal of Experimental Psychology). Her article on texting was also discussed on The Huffington Post, New York Daily News, ABC On-line, the Today Show, and National Public Radio.


*Heather Groben, an assistant professor of Psychology, also received the research award. Groben’s ten-year research project (on behavioral predictors of mathematics engagement) was accepted for publication in one of the leading scientific journals on adolescent development (the Journal of Youth and Adolescence). She was also selected to present her research at the Society of Research on Child Development (SRCD) this month.

The student award winners:
Division of Business Administration & Multimedia Communication
Outstanding Senior in Public Relations: Mallory Dirks
Outstanding Senior in Multimedia Journalism: Madison Wilson
Outstanding Senior in Marketing: Maxine Lauzon
Outstanding Senior in Management: Hang Vu
R.J. Samson CEO (Collegiate Entrepreneurs Organization) Award: Megan Myers
Outstanding Senior in Global Management: Danielle Dawson
Lisle C. Wilson Outstanding Junior: Chris Harris
Feyerharm Award for Outstanding Junior: Mallory Hanson
Heckert Award – Outstanding Senior in Economics: Garrett Pochop
Financial Executives International Awards: Kelli Greiner and Alexa Stripe
Institute of Management Accountants: Marissa Busby
Iowa Society of Certified Public Accountants: Tanner Augustine
Eberhart International Scholarship: Valeria Gonzalez
Outstanding Senior in Health Services Leadership: Abbie Westlund
Division of Education, Sport & Health Sciences
Dick Starr Award: Taryn Barz
Outstanding Senior in Sport Science: Sadie Timms
Leadership in Education: Shawna Hughes
Outstanding Senior in Elementary Education: Erin Thompson
Dr. Donna J. Helble ’71 Award Winner for Outstanding Junior in Elementary Education: Cassandra Westlund
Outstanding Senior in Secondary Education: Collin Lind
Outstanding Graduate Student in Secondary Education: Randi Fitzgerald
ETS Recognition of Excellence Awards for Praxis II Content Exams: Peggy Lundquist
Division of Humanities
Outstanding Senior in Humanities: Britney Samuelson
Norman Thomas Outstanding Senior in Philosophy: Britney Samuelson
Leopold Award in History: Bobbi Oelmann and Tim Palese
Joe Walt Senior History Award: Madison Wirth
Roger Betsworth Outstanding Senior in Religion: Virgina Atwell
Outstanding Senior in English: Danny Judge
Clerk’s Award: Mary Wood
Outstanding Students in World Language and Culture Studies: Amanda Evens (Spanish) and Maxine Lauzon (French)
Division of Natural Science
L. Mildred Wilson Science Award: Maggie Long
Doft Science Honor Awards: Matthew Hayden, Stacy Overman, Christopher Hanson, Nick Joslyn, Victoria Wreghitt, Audrey LoVan, Kyann Brown, Grant Kofmehl, Mandie Gassman, Nathan Hawkins, Elizabeth Boyer, Josh Hof, Alexander Hoffman, Kaitlyn Mulder, Carley Irlmeier, Kristina Smith, Ben Rajewski, Ellen Willhoit, Malia Beatty, Charity Ingle, Blake Bender, Michael Hite, Makala Williams
Jordan Science Achievement Award: Amanda Evens
Outstanding Senior in Chemistry/Biochemistry/Forensics: Dana Bohan
Margaret L. Watson Awards in Biology: Andy Becker (senior) and Victoria Wreghitt (junior)
Outstanding Senior in Environmental Science: Neil Johnson
Hiram Doty Research Award: Jessie Hoffman
Dr. Dean and Sandra Blinn Research Scholarship: Kelly Brass
Joe K. Moody Research Scholarship: Dana Bohan
Dr. Alan and Karen Orr Biology Research Scholarship: Alec McIntosh
Outstanding Senior in Computer Science: Park Mikels
Outstanding Senior in Computer Information Systems: Ellie Luebbe
Outstanding Seniors in Mathematics: Andy Becker and Allison Frideres
Outstanding Senior in Actuarial Science: Elisa Wildy

Division of Social Science
Outstanding Senior in Political Science: Robert Lyons
Carl Halgren Certificate of Excellence in Psychology: Kristen Alstott
Everett Laning Award in Sociology: Tegan Jarchow
Outstanding Senior in Criminal Justice: Scott Jessick
Horizon Award: Shawn Schossow
Fred Jones Outstanding Master of Arts in Criminal Justice Graduate Award: Danny White
Division of Visual and Performing Arts
Alpha Psi Omega Junior Award: Britteny Johnson
Outstanding Senior in Theatre Arts: Bryce Browning
Outstanding Senior in Art: Ashley Burch
Frank Barrows Award: Hannah Carlson and Sarah Curtis
Douglas J. Duncan Music Award: Hankel Haldin
Sven and Mildred Lekberg Music Award: Kaylah Hicock and Shea Lueninghoener
General Recognition
Volunteer of the Year Award: Kaylee Fee
ODK Emerging Leader Award: Erin Magoffie
E.G. Booth Award: Brook Thompson
Alpha Lambda Delta Society’s Maria Leonard Book Award: Sydney Rissler and Allison Frideres
Women and Gender Studies Program Scholarship Award: Tegan Jarchow
Women and Gender Studies Program Activism Award: Liz Nimmo and Olivia Samples
Epsilon Sigma: Recognition
Carver Bridge to STEM Success Fellows: Recognition
Barborka Award: Isaac Frazier
President’s Award in Human Relations: Olivia Samples