facebook icon twitter icon youtube icon

Simpson College announces faculty and staff award winners

The college recognizes seven faculty and staff members for their exceptional commitment to the Simpson community


In recognition of their enduring commitment to the college community, Simpson College has announced its Faculty and Staff Award Winners for the 2019-20 academic year.

The awards are typically presented in-person. However, the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic put an end to on-campus gatherings. Instead, the 2019-20 award winners were recognized during a Zoom meeting on Aug. 20, 2020.

Below is the complete list of faculty and staff award winners for the 2019-20 academic year.

2019-20 Simpson College Faculty & Staff Awards

Chad TimmFaculty Award for Exemplary Teaching: Dr. Chad Timm, associate professor of teacher education

The Faculty Award for Exemplary Teaching recognizes a full-time faculty member at Simpson College who exemplifies excellence in teaching, civility and concern for students and colleagues, commitment to value-centered education and service to students, the institution and the community.

Katie SmithDistinguished Junior Faculty Award: Dr. Katie Smith, assistant professor of sport science

The Distinguished Junior Faculty Award recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding teaching, professional development, service to the college and advising. 

Sal MeyersDistinguished Teaching Award: Dr. Sal Meyers, professor of psychology

The Distinguished Teaching Award is presented to a faculty member recognized by both students and faculty colleagues for their outstanding ability as a teacher, concern for students’ personal development, ability to enhance high academic standards and their support of Simpson College’s goals.  

Patti Woodward-YoungFaculty Award for Campus Leadership: Dr. Patti Woodward-Young, professor of teacher education

The Faculty Award for Campus Leadership recognizes a faculty member who has provided outstanding campus leadership in service to students. Nominees demonstrate outstanding leadership in areas like mentoring new faculty members, directing campus-wide projects, committee service, recruiting and more.

Laura Cesarco-EglinDistinguished Research Award: Dr. Lau Cesarco Eglin, assistant professor of world language and culture studies

The Distinguished Research Award recognizes any full-time, regularly-appointed (tenured or tenure-track) faculty member who publishes, presents, or displays within the past three years a research project, publication, or work of art deemed to be of high professional quality by standards of peers within the appropriate discipline.

Russ RiversStaff Impact Award: Russ Rivers, late night security

The Staff Impact Award recognizes a staff member who has made a difference in supporting and encouraging to students in ways that might not be in their job description.

Mara BaileyStaff Service Award: Mara Bailey, chaplain

The Staff Service Award recognizes a staff member who demonstrates service to the college beyond the scope of his or her normal duties.