facebook icon twitter icon youtube icon

Debate team wins national championship for fourth time


The Simpson College debate team is the best in the nation — again. 

For the third year in a row and fourth time in five years, Simpson won the Pi Kappa Delta National Debate Championship, taking top honors among the 79 colleges competing. Simpson previously won in 2016, 2018 and 2019. There was no tournament in 2020 for health and safety concerns due to the global pandemic. 

Originally scheduled to take place in Texas but due to COVID-19, the team competed in the tournament via an online tournament platform from March 18-21. The speech and debate team finished four days of intense competition at the largest national college comprehensive forensics tournament in the country. 

The Storm competed against 1,342 entries from 520 other students in 18 different events. Simpson placed third in the combined speech and debate sweepstakes, matching the team’s 2019 effort as the best in school history. Among the students recognized were five National Champions and six National Runners-Up.

The results for this year follow. 

2021 Debate Team Points
1.    Simpson College, 302
2.    Whitworth University, 178
3.    Boise State University, 178
4.    Hillsdale College, 148
5.    College of Western Idaho, 124
6.    Grove City College, 110
7.    University of Central Florida, 102
8.    Idaho State University, 98
9.    Webster University, 93
10.  Texas Christian University, 93

Third Place Finish, Team — Speech and Debate Nationals 
Tempest Allred
Jordan Baldwin
Mary Hendon
Ethan Humble
Lexi Johnston
Rady Malcom
Shelby McCasland
Ashley Merkley
Eden Moad
Jenna Pfeiffer
Kimberly Roberts
Marissa Salber

Debate Award Winners
Lincoln Douglas Debate, Octofinalist: Douglas Roberts
Lincoln Douglas Debate, Quarterfinalist: Scout Peery
Lincoln Douglas Debate, Semifinalist: Flory
Lincoln Douglas Debate, Junior Varsity National Champion: Trenity Rosenberg
Parliamentary Debate, Quarterfinalist: Michael Roets
Parliamentary Debate, Octofinalist: Sam Porter and Triniti Krauss
Parliamentary Debate, Octofinalist: Malcolm Smart and Scott Krueger
Public Forum, Quarterfinalist: Allie Tubbs and Adam Krell
Public Forum, Semifinalist: Drake Wood and Pascasie Redhage
Public Forum, Varsity National Runner-Up: Casey Spring and Danielle Blake
Public Forum, Novice National Runner-Up: Maximo Diaz and Will Keck
Public Forum, Junior Varsity National Co-Champions: Dylan Seibel and Monserrat Saucedo
Public Forum, Junior Varsity National Co-Champions: Alyssa Beckwith and Kylie Banouvong
Public Forum, 10th Speaker: Drake Wood
Public Forum, Fifth Speaker: Casey Spring
Public Forum, Fourth Speaker: Danielle Blake
Lincoln Douglas, Fifth Speaker: Flory
Lincoln Douglas, Fourth Speaker: Trenity Rosenberg
Lincoln Douglas, Third Speaker:  Scout Peery
Parliamentary Debate, Seconnd Speaker: Triniti Krauss
Speech Awards
Extemporaneous Speaking National Finalist, Fourth Place: Mo Marks
Extemporaneous Commentary National Finalist, Sixth Place: Mo Marks
Extemporaneous Commentary National Finalist, Second Place: Elise Sturgeon
After-Dinner Speaking Quarterfinalist: Elise Sturgeon
After-Dinner Speaking Quarterfinalist: Kylie Doupnik 
Dramatic Interpretation Quarterfinalist: Kylie Doupnik
Persuasion Semifinalist: Mo Marks
Individual Sweepstakes, Eighth Place: Mo Marks
Excellence in Interview: Allie Tubbs, Melanie Gillet, Kylie Doupnik, Faithyna Leonard, Elise Sturgeon, Monserrat Saucedo and Danielle Blake