facebook icon twitter icon youtube icon

Simpson College Students Win Multiple Awards at Iowa College Media Association


Simpson College students won 16 awards – including four firsts – at the annual Iowa College Media Association student media contests announced Thursday, February 2nd in Des Moines. 

​The ICMA contests are judged by professionals around the country and included entries from more than a dozen schools including Drake University, the University of Northern Iowa, Grinnell and Wartburg. 

​“I’m proud of all the students who won awards and all those student media members who helped them along the way,” said Mark Siebert, associate professor of multimedia communication and director of student media at Simpson. “I’m especially proud that students were recognized in so many areas – reporting, opinion writing, photography, video and design. Our goal as a department is to turn out graduates with skills in all facets of the media and that showed last night.”

​The first place winners included Kate Burns, ’23; for her Spring 2022 ID Magazine Cover on Gen Z’rs; Caleb Geer, ’24, for his graphic on surviving finals; Ethan Humble, ’23, Sophie Reese, ’23, and Geer for best newscast for SCTV; and Morgan Flynn, ’22, for best sports reporting on woman college coaches being under represented. 

The winners list is below:

1st Place:

Best Sports Reporting – Morgan Flynn – Under represented

Best Magazine Cover – Katie Burns – ID Magazine, Spring 2022

Best Graphic or Illustration – Caleb Geer – Tips for surviving finals

Best Video Newscast – SCTV, 10.12.22 – Ethan Humble, Sophie Reese, Caleb Geer

2nd Place: 

Best Staff Editorial – Evan Burley, Amelia Schafer - We don’t care about PR

Best News- Public Affairs and Sports Reporting Video Package – Jake Brend – Sports Year in Review

Best Use of Social Media – Staff – The Simpsonian

3rd Place:

Best Sports Feature Reporting – Jenna Prather – One Year with Thunder

Best Staff Editorial – Staff - Simpson needs to start being more clear about COVID-19

Best Sports Photo – Mo Marks – Cross Country

Best Variety- Music and Comedy Video Program – Jake Brend – Liv’s replacement

Honorable Mention:

Best Investigative Reporting – Caleb Geer – Moldgate

Best Profile – Amelia Schafer – The history of Millie the Ghost

Best Entertainment Storytelling Video Package – Caleb Geer – Love is in the Air

Best Long Form Documentary – Seth Howard – Do R Thang

Best Media Website – Staff – The Simpsonian