facebook icon twitter icon youtube icon

Speech and Debate Stack Up the Wins


Last weekend, the Simpson Speech and Debate team competed against 30 other colleges and universities at the Gorlok Gala hosted by Webster University. The team made history by walking away with a win in every category. 

The Gorlok Gala is one of the largest and longest-standing tournaments in the region, drawing competition from all across the country. This year, there were 30 different universities and colleges from all around the country competing, resulting in fierce competition. Simpson swept the tournament, winning all four overall sweepstakes awards: Individual Events Sweepstakes, Debate Sweepstakes, Overall Sweepstakes, and Top PKD Chapter. This is a rare accomplishment and is the first time the team has won all four categories. The last time Simpson won a sweepstakes award at the Gorlok Gala was in 2017 for Debate and Overall Sweepstakes, but not in all four categories. 

"The students had individual success as we walked away with five different championships in individual events, but winning a tournament to this level and against such large, successful programs is a collaborative team effort," said Tiana Brownen director of Speech, Debate and Mock Trial. "It takes the work of all of our students to win to this degree, and each student on our team was a part of that success," she continued. 

Below are the complete tournament results and a list of schools in attendance.

Team Results:   

  • First in Individual Events Sweepstakes 
  • First in Debate Sweepstakes 
  • Top Pi Kappa Delta School 
  • First in Overall Sweepstakes
    1. Simpson College  - 465 points
    2. University of Central Missouri - 374 points
    3. Truman State University - 373 points 
    4. Harper College - 270 points 
    5. University of Missouri - 255 points 
    6. University of Minnesota at Mankato - 153 points 
    7. McKendree University - 114 points 
    8. McNeese State University - 109 points
    9. Texas Tech University - 101 points 
    10.  Illinois College - 78 points   


  • Maggie Fitzpatrick - Quarterfinalist in Open IPDA Debate
  • Maddie Waddingham - Tournament Champion in Novice IPDA Debate
  • Anja Waugh - Quarterfinalist in Open IPDA Debate
  • Ryan Corcoran - Co-Champion in Open IPDA Debate with Scott Krueger
  • Dorian Burke - Quarterfinalist in Novice IPDA Debate
  • AJ Flory - Second Place in Open NFA-Lincoln Doulgas Debate
  • Scott Krueger - Co-Champions in Open IPDA Debate with Ryan Corcoran
  • Abby Fry - Semifinalist in Open IPDA Debate


Maggie Fitzpatrick

  • Fifth Place in Extemporaneous Commentary
  • Excellence Award in Interviewing

Maddie Waddingham

  • Sixth Place in Extemporaneous Commentary
  • Sixth Place in After Dinner Speaking
  • Sixth Place in Impromptu Speaking

Anja Waugh

  • Tournament Champion in Persuasive Speaking
  • Fourth Place in Extemporaneous Speaking
  • Fourth Place in Informative Speaking
  • Seventh Place in Broadcast Journalism

Ryan Corcoran

  • Tournament Champion in Extemporaneous Commentary
  • Third Place in Duo Interpretation with Andrew Samountry
  • Excellence in Impromptu Speaking

Ryan Magalhaes

  • Third Place in Extemporaneous Commentary
  • Third Place in Impromptu Speaking
  • Sixth Place in Extemporaneous Speaking

Dorian Burke

  • Semifinalist in Impromptu Speaking

AJ Flory

  • Fourth Speaker in Open NFA-LD
  • Semifinalist in Extemporaneous Speaking

Ella Glawatz

  • Top Novice in Duo Interpretation with Mya Postel
  • Sixth Place in Duo Interpretation with Mya Postel
  • Seventh in Dramatic Interpretation

Mya Postel

  • Top Novice in Duo Interpretation with Ella Glawatz
  • Sixth Place in Duo Interpretation with Ella Glawatz

Rachel Garcia

  • Excellence Award in Broadcast Journalism
  • Sixth Place in Dramatic Interpretation
  • Seventh Place in Poetry Interpretation

Andrew Samountry

  • Second Place in Poetry Interpretation
  • Third Place in Duo Interpretation with Ryan Corcoran

Scott Krueger

  • Fourth Open-IPDA Speaker
  • Fourth Place in Open Interviewing
  • Semifinalist in Extemporaneous Speaking

MJ Klinzman

  • Second Place in Dramatic Interpretation
  • Excellence Award in Interviewing

Elijah Taylor

  • Semifinalist in Impromptu Speaking

Tempest Allred

  • Third Place in Prose Interpretation
  • Third Place in Poetry Interpretation
  • Fifth in Program of Oral Interpretation

Abby Fry

  • Third Place in Extemporaneous Speaking
  • Third Place in Interviewing

Colleges & Universities in Attendance

  • Central Michigan University 
  • Florida State University 
  • Harper College 
  • Illinois College 
  • Illinois State University 
  • John A. Logan College 
  • Kansas City Kansas Community College 
  • Lewis & Clark College 
  • Marian University 
  • McKendree University 
  • McNeese State University 
  • Minnesota State University, Mankato 
  • Missouri Valley College 
  • Northwest Missouri State University 
  • Oklahoma City University 
  • Ottawa University 
  • Sacramento State 
  • Southwest Baptist University 
  • State Fair Community College 
  • Texas Tech University 
  • The University of Central Missouri 
  • Truman State University 
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
  • University of Missouri - Columbia 
  • University of Nebraska- Lincoln 
  • University of North Texas 
  • University of Pittsburgh 
  • Washburn University 
  • Western Kentucky University 
  • Wiley University