facebook icon twitter icon youtube icon

High School Honor Band


Update:  Due to Weather and Recent snow days the High School Honor Band for this year is now cancelled.  Please check with your directors or email mike.eckerty@simpson.edu for more information.  Sorry we will miss you this year.



The Simpson High School honor band is now 17 years old. The honor band is under the direction of Dr. Mike Eckerty, Director of Instrumental Music at Simpson College.  Dr. Eckerty holds a Doctor of Music in bassoon performance with a conducting minor from the University of Georgia, Master of Music degrees in conducting and bassoon from the Conservatory of Music at the University of Missouri-Kansas City, and a degree in Music Education from Baylor University. His conducting teachers include Sarah McKoin, Michael Haithcock, John Lynch, and John Culvahouse. As a conductor he directs the Symphonic Band, College/Community Orchestra, and many chamber ensembles at Simpson College, and has served as a guest conductor, clinician, and adjudicator for bands in Iowa, Nebraska, Missouri, Kansas, and Texas. Prior to his college career he taught high school band in Texas and Kansas.


Below is the tentative schedule for 2023-24 school year:

Simpson College High School Honor

Wind Ensemble Festival

January 11, 2024




8:15 a.m.       Registration in the lobby of the Amy Robertson Music Center

8:45               Chair placement auditions have begun by this time

9:00               Percussionists leave the music building for Pote Theatre in Blank Performing Arts Center

10:00             Rehearsal begins in Pote Theatre in the Blank Performing Arts Center.  Auditors begin placing students into sections as soon as auditions conclude, beginning before 10:00 if possible.

11:45             Student Lunch in Pfeiffer Dining Hall

                      Director Lunch in Matthew Simpson Room (College Hall)

1:00 p.m.       Rehearsal resumes in Pote

4:30               Break for Dinner

6:45               Honor Band participants are to be in their assigned seats for the concert

7:00               Performance:  Simpson College Symphonic Band

7:30               Performance:  High School Wind Ensemble



The concert is in the Blank Performing Arts Center.  513 N D St, Indianola, IA


Parents should be encouraged to arrive no later than 6:30. As with most college campuses, parking will be a challenge even at this late hour.


Looking for the Middle School Honor Band Page ???