facebook icon twitter icon youtube icon

Simpson College Board of Trustees


Terry W. Handley ’09, Board Chair
President and Chief Executive Officer, retired, Casey’s General Stores, Inc.
Ankeny, Iowa

Susan E. Voss '75, Board Secretary
Vice President, Government Relations, American Enterprise Group
Des Moines, Iowa

Deanna Strable-Soethout, Board Treasurer
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Principal Financial Group, Inc.
Des Moines, Iowa

Tim Bonney, Ex-Officio
Senior Pastor, First United Methodist Church
Indianola, Iowa

Jay R. Byers ’93
CEO, Greater Des Moines Partnership
Des Moines, Iowa

Nicole L. Crain ’05
Executive Vice President, Iowa Association of Business and Industry
Des Moines, Iowa

Michael J. DeVito
Executive Vice President, Mortgage Production, Wells Fargo Home Mortgage
Des Moines, Iowa

D. Robert Downing ’63
Chairman of the Board, Downing Construction, Inc.
Indianola, Iowa

Rick W. Exline ’78
Executive Vice President/Senior Managing Director
of Life Plan Communities, LCS
Des Moines, Iowa

Steven C. Fiterman ’68
President, Ground Development, Inc.
Golden Valley, Minnesota

Brianne K. Fitzgerald '02, Ex-Officio
Program Director, Alzheimer's Association, Iowa Chapter
Des Moines, Iowa

Ben F. Gaumer ’75
Rear Admiral, USN, retired, BG Adventures, LLC
Indianola, Iowa

Denise M. Griffey ’79
Director of Early College, Community Outreach, and STEM Initiatives, retired, Johnson County Community College
Lenexa, Kansas

Joseph D. Hall ’58
Radiologist, retired, Iowa Radiology, P.C.
Des Moines, Iowa

Laurie Haller, Ex-Officio
Resident Bishop, Iowa, The United Methodist Church
Des Moines, Iowa

Kamie Downing Haynes ’92
Owner, Lula Belle Designs Boutique
Indianola, Iowa

Mark L. Hill ’78
Des Moines, Iowa

John D. Hines '80
Physician, The Iowa Clinic
West Des Moines, Iowa

Heecheon Jeon, Ex-Officio
District Superintendent, The United Methodist Church
Des Moines, Iowa

Steven G. Johnson ’81
President and Chief Executive Officer, Care View Communications
Lewisville, Texas

Thomas J. Keating '77
Executive Director, Iowa High School Athletic Association
Boone, Iowa

Ronald L. Keller
President and Chief Executive Officer, retired, Aureon
Clive, Iowa

Marsha C. Kelliher, Ex-Officio
President, Simpson College
Indianola, Iowa

Sean M. Kennedy ’92
President and Chief Executive Officer, The IMT Group
West Des Moines, Iowa

Izaah JB Knox
Executive Director, Urban Dreams
Des Moines, Iowa

Virginia Lauridsen
Des Moines, Iowa

John T. Lawlor ’73
Principal and Founder, Lawlor Advisory, LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Terrance J. Lillis ’77
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, retired, Principal Financial Group, Inc.
Des Moines, Iowa

Jay T. Marshall
Vice-Chairman, President, Hy-Vee Supply Chain/Subsidiaries, Hy-Vee, Inc.
West Des Moines, Iowa

Barbara A. Miller ’64
Executive Director, Center for Education in Law and Democracy
Denver, Colorado

Alejandro Munoz
Vice President – Global Commercial Business, Corteva Agriscience Agriculture
Johnston, Iowa

Renee' D. Murphy '92
Vice President of Marketing/Owner
CJM Financial, Inc./Sassy Social Media Managements
Ankeny, Iowa

Jayna J. Niblock '09
Pediatric Occupational Therapist, Blank Pediatric Therapy
Des Moines, Iowa

Beth Nigut ’91
Executive Vice President and Chief People Officer, EMC Insurance Companies
Des Moines, Iowa

John R. Norris ’81
Owner, State Public Policy Group
West Des Moines, Iowa

Nile D. Ramsbottom ’66
Chairman and Co-Founder, God Cares
Innsbrook, Missouri

Steven A. Ramsey '11
Assistant Prosecuting Attorney, Jackson County Prosecutor's Office
Kansas City, Missouri

Sunnie Richer
Chairman, Doextra Corporation
Des Moines, Iowa

Robert G. Riley, Jr.
Chairman of the Board, Riley Resource Group
Des Moines, Iowa

Thomas C. Shandley ’75
Vice President for Student Life/Dean of Students, retired, Davidson College
Davidson, North Carolina

Joe Sorenson ’12
Vice President for Affiliate Relations, Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines
Grimes, Iowa

James C. Spooner ’82
Senior Vice President – Wealth Management, UBS Financial Services
West Des Moines, Iowa

Kirk J. Tyler
Chairman/CEO, Atlantic Bottling Company
Des Moines, Iowa

Juli M. Willeman ’96
Executive Director, Pi Beta Phi Fraternity and Fraternity Housing Corporation
Town and Country, Missouri

Maribeth Wright '87
Executive Director, Iowa Higher Education Loan Authority
West Des Moines, Iowa



Douglas J. Barakat ’68
Senior Vice President, Director of Sales, retired, American Republic Insurance Company
Boulder, Colorado

Mary Sconiers Chapman
Senior Vice President, retired, Des Moines Area Community College
Des Moines, Iowa

Jerry L. Chicoine
Chairman and CEO, retired, Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.
Scottsdale, Arizona

Karen A. Conner ’69
Professor Emerita, Drake University
Scottsdale, Arizona

Allison Fleming
Des Moines, Iowa

Barbara M. Gartner
Des Moines, Iowa

Michael G. Gartner
Chairman, Iowa Cubs
Des Moines, Iowa

Darrell J. Goodhue '62
Iowa District Court Judge, retired
Carlisle, Iowa

Jordan B. Hansell
President, Rockbridge
Columbus, Ohio

Fred S. Hubbell
Member Executive Group, retired, ING Group
Des Moines, Iowa

Gage A. Kent
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Kent Corporation
​​​​​​​Muscatine, Iowa

Linda W. Koehn
Des Moines, Iowa

Robert L. Lester ’64
Senior Vice President, retired, Iowa Power
Indianola, Iowa

Mary Rose Main ’53
National Executive Director, retired, Girl Scouts of the U.S.A.
New York, New York

Marvin E. Mazie
Chairman of the Board, retired, Firstar Bank of Des Moines
San Diego, California

Mark C. Miller '79
North America Office Manager, retired, DuPont Pioneer
Adel, Iowa

Lizz S. Nichols
Vice President, retired, Noble Ford, Inc.
Indianola, Iowa

James R. Oplt ’72
Senior Vice President, Investments, UBS Financial Services, Inc.
West Des Moines, Iowa

James M. Reed ’54
Private Equity Investor
Scottsdale, Arizona

Charles E. Rohm
Executive Vice President, retired, Principal Financial Group, Inc.
Scottsdale, Arizona

Douglas Shull
Indianola, Iowa

H. Richard Smith ’53
Attorney, retired, Ahlers and Cooney, P.C.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Keith R. Swanson ’54
Atlantic, Iowa

Marilyn M. Vernon
Naples, Florida

Fred W. Weitz
President, retired, Essex Meadows, Inc.
Des Moines, Iowa

Richard M. Willis '74
President, Willis Automotive
Clive, Iowa

A. Roger Witke ’54
Of Counsel, Whitfield and Eddy, P.L.C.
Des Moines, Iowa

Sumner Worth
President, Gilcrest/Jewett Lumber Company
Waukee, Iowa



David A. McNeill ’79
Des Moines, Iowa

Kaela L. Phillips '06
West Des Moines, Iowa

Marilee Scieszinski
Albia, Iowa

Dustin L. Thomas '07
Des Moines, Iowa

Dennis E. Young
Des Moines, Iowa